Spell right or spell check

courtesy: 21centuryedtech

Today morning I came across an unusual thing. I was surfing channels like every sunday. As usual I didnt find anything interesting until I hit the discovery channel. There the Classmate spell bee 2014 was going on. I just loved the format of the show. It was a competition in pure form just like we used to have in school days. The host Soha Ali Khan did a brilliant job of pronouncing the words and putting across the questions. The participants did the unimaginable job of spelling out the difficult words.

This reminded me of my school days. We did not have easy access to computers then. Hence for verification of spellings we used to refer to dictionary. To avoid using dictionary again we used to memorize the word, it’s spelling, pronounciation and meaning. That exercise used to help us a lot in essay writing as we never felt short of words to express ourselves. It also enhanced our vocabulary. I remember raising my hand whenever teacher asked about some word which I knew. The appreciation from teacher after spelling it and the applause from classmates, still makes me nostalgic. Although we have so many gadgets to help us in writing but our freedom to write is somehow curbed because we don’t trouble our minds with learning new words.

Let us make it a habit to learn atleast one new word every week. We can then use it in our tweets or comments in social media. This will not only help us remember it but also enhance our language. At the end of today’s episode, the host said “Its better to spell right than to spell check”. I completely agree with it. Let us remember the spellings and gain the freedom to express ourselves without referring to any gadget or option like spellcheck. I congratulate Times of India and Classmate for organizing the Spellbee. All the best to all the participants of spellbee.

Leave a Reply

