Music is Eternal

My grandfather moved from our home state to a state in another zone of the country. At that time my mother was a child. He was very fond of music. He carried our bengali culture through music in his gramaphone disks. These consisted of traditional songs to folk music to movie songs. The gramaphone was very precious to him. He used to ensure it gets cleaned up and played daily. As a result I used to hear those songs daily. He passed away when I was seven. The gramaphone was still played by my grandmother on alternate days to keep it running. This time we used to decide the disk to be played. There was a disk containing some old movie songs. One of the songs was my favourite “Ek poloke ektu dekha”. It was from the movie “Lookochuri” based on “Comedy of errors” theme. Below is the song:

In the video, the central character (played by Kishore kumar who is also the singer of the song) is alone at home and is happily describing his interactions with his love interest. The video is no less than the song and clearly reflects the mood of the song. One can’t help smiling at the thought of this song. I vaguely remember my grandfather listening to his gramaphone with a tranquil expression on his face. As I grew up, taperecorders and CD players entered and the gramaphone was packed and kept in the attic. Years later I heard that song on radio, I felt so happy. It brought back the memories of my childhood when there was no hurry, no tension, no responsibility but pure happiness. Today the song is there in my phone. Everytime I am upset or stressed, I hear that song. It relaxes me. When I got access to youtube the first thing I searched was this song as it always manages to move me.

When I sat to write this blog, it just reminded me, the listeners changed from grandfather to me, the devices changed from gramaphone to smartphone, yet the music and its effect remained the same. Music is above life and technology. It is eternal.

Leave a Reply

